BC NDP Caucus Quick Facts - Nov 2021

Firsts:

- First turban-wearing Sikh MLA (Aman Singh)¹
- First MLA from a Hindu background (Niki Sharma)
- Highest number of South Asian MLAs ever in a caucus in BC (9)
- Highest number of IBPOC MLAs ever in a caucus in BC (16)
- First majority-women caucus with official party status in BC (29 women)²
- First majority-women governing caucus in Canadian history³
- Largest BC NDP caucus in history⁴
- First BC NDP MLA elected to represent an Abbotsford constituency
- First BC NDP MLA elected to represent a Langley constituency
- First woman from any party to represent an Abbotsford constituency

Representation:

- Most IBPOC women elected in a caucus (9)
- More women than the entirety of the opposition (NDP 29 women, LIB 28 total men and women)
- 7 MLAs who are under 40 (Brittny Anderson, Katrina Chen, Grace Lore, Bowinn Ma, Andrew Mercier, Niki Sharma, Adam Walker) [Ages as of Nov 2021]
- Six MLAs who are out as LGBTQ2S+ (Spencer Chandra Herbert, Mable Elmore, Mike Farnworth, Jennifer Rice, Doug Routley, Nicholas Simons)
- 1 MLA with a physical disability (Dan Coulter)
- 16 MLAs who are IBPOC (28% of the 57-member caucus)
 - South Asian: Harry Bains, Jagrup Brar, Raj Chouhan, Ravi Kahlon, Harwinder Sandhu, Niki Sharma, Jinny Sims, Aman Singh, Rachna Singh
 - Chinese/Taiwanese: Katrina Chen, George Chow, Anne Kang, Bowinn Ma, Henry Yao
 - Filipino: Mable Elmore
 - Indigenous: Melanie Mark
- 2 MLAs who are Jewish (George Heyman, Selina Robinson)
- The number of languages spoken by caucus members: 13
 - Fluent speakers: Cantonese, Mandarin, Taiwanese, Punjabi, Hindi, Urdu, French, Italian
 - Basic conversational only: Spanish, Japanese, Arabic, Tagalog, Gujarati
- 14 immigrant MLAs: Harry Bains, Jagrup Brar, Katrina Chen, Raj Chouhan, George Chow, Mitzi Dean, Bob D'Eith, Mike Farnworth, Anne Kang, Harwinder Sandhu, Jinny Sims, Aman Singh, Rachna Singh, Henry Yao

¹ Harry Lali wore a turban in the chamber on at least one occasion (for an assembly group photo in 2001) but he did not wear one on a regular basis.

² The BC NDP caucus elected in 2001 (2 MLAs, both women) did not have official party status.

³ The Yukon NDP had a majority-women caucus in 2011 in opposition, and the PEI Greens have a majority-women caucus as the official opposition right now. Our caucus is the first in Canadian history to be majority women while in government.

⁴ In terms of seat count but not percentage: 1972 = 38 out of 55 seats (69%); 1991 = 51 out of 75 seats (68%); 1996 = 39 out of 75 seats (52%); 2020 = 57 out of 87 seats (65.5%)

Professions

- 1 biologist (Josie Osborne)
- 1 professional firefighter (Mike Starchuk)
- 1 millworker (Dan Coulter)
- 1 active Navy Reservist (Susie Chant)
- 1 cop / RCMP Inspector (Garry Begg)
- 1 Canadian Olympian (Ravi Kahlon)
- 1 basketball player for the Indian National team (Jagrup Brar)
- 2 nurses (Susie Chant, Harwinder Sandhu)
- 2 professional musicians (Bob D'Eith, Nicholas Simons)
- 3 from tech sector (Brenda Bailey, Rick Glumac, Adam Walker)
- 3 teachers (Pam Alexis, Anne Kang, Jinny Sims)
- 4 engineers (George Chow [mechanical], Katrine Conroy [power], Rick Glumac [computer], Bowinn Ma [civil])
- 5 farmers (Katrine Conroy, Megan Dykeman, Lana Popham, Roly Russell, Adam Walker)
- 6 lawyers (Bob D'Eith, David Eby, Bruce Ralston, Murray Rankin, Niki Sharma, Aman Singh)
- 7 from the environmental (ENGO) movement⁵ (Fin Donnelly, George Heyman, Ronna-Rae Leonard, Sheila Malcolmson, Josie Osborne, Jennifer Rice, Niki Sharma)
- 8 university and college instructors (Brenda Bailey, Katrine Conroy, David Eby, George Heyman, Grace Lore, Murray Rankin, Selina Robinson, Nicholas Simons)
- 9 from the social and community services sector⁶ (Brenda Bailey, Katrine Conroy, Mitzi Dean, Melanie Mark, Kelli Paddon, Selina Robinson, Nicholas Simons, Rachna Singh, Henry Yao)
- 10 labour leaders, activists or union staff (Harry Bains, Raj Chouhan, Dan Coulter, Mable Elmore, George Heyman, Andrew Mercier, Janet Routledge, Harwinder Sandhu, Jinny Sims, Jennifer Whiteside)
- 17 business owners/operators⁷
 - Pam Alexis (founded Alexis Event Management [AEM])
 - Brittny Anderson (co-founder and co-owner of a cannabis consultation firm)
 - Brenda Bailey (co-founded 2 software studios)
 - Kat Conroy (owns a cattle farm)
 - Nathan Cullen (founded consulting firm)
 - Bob D'Eith (consultant and lawyer)
 - Megan Dykeman (owns Freedom Fields Farm and is the managing director of Strategics Canada consultancy)
 - Sheila Malcolmson (tourism management company)
 - Lana Popham (co-founded and operated Barking Dog Vineyard)

⁵ This includes those who were staff or leaders of organizations, does not include volunteering or sitting on boards.

⁶ This includes those who were staff or leaders of organizations, does not include volunteering or sitting on boards.

⁷ Some of these businesses may no longer be active, and some are sole proprietorships.

- Bruce Ralston (operated his own law firm)
- Murray Rankin (legal consultancy)
- Selina Robinson (had a home-based family therapy practice)
- Doug Routley (established a bicycle retail and wholesale company)
- Roly Russell (owns an organic farm)
- Nic Simons (music instructor)
- Aman Singh (owns legal practice)
- Adam Walker (owns a tech business)

Other orders of government

- 5 members of Parliament (Nathan Cullen, Fin Donnelly, Sheila Malcolmson, Murray Rankin, Jinny Sims)
- 3 mayors/Council chairs: Pam Alexis (Mission), Sheila Malcolmson (Islands Trust), Josie Osbourne (Tofino)
- 16 municipal councillors: Michele Babchuk (Campbell River), Pam Alexis (Mission), Brittny Anderson (Nelson), Fin Donnelly (Coquitlam), George Chow (Vancouver), Mike Farnworth (Port Coquitlam), Rob Fleming (Victoria), Rick Glumac (Port Moody), Kelly Greene (Richmond), Anne Kang (Burnaby), Ronna-Rae Leonard (Courtenay), Bruce Ralston (Surrey), Jennifer Rice (Prince Rupert), Selina Robinson (Coquitlam), Mike Starchuk (Surrey), Adam Walker (Qualicum Beach)
- 7 Regional District Directors: Michele Babchuk (Strathcona Regional District Board, Chair), Brittny Anderson (Regional District of Central Kootenay), Pam Alexis (Fraser Valley Regional District), Rob Fleming (Capital Regional District), Roly Russell (Regional District of Kootenay Boundary, Chair), Ronna-Rae Leonard (Comox Valley Regional District), Josie Osborne (Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District, Chair)
- 7 school board trustees: Pam Alexis (Mission SD 75), Michele Babchuk (Campbell River – SD 72), Lisa Beare (Maple Ridge-Pitt Meadows – SD 42), Katrina Chen (Burnaby – SD 41), Dan Coulter (Chilliwack – SD 33), Megan Dykeman (Langley – SD 35), Doug Routley (Cowichan – SD 79)
- 2 Vancouver park board commissioners: Spencer Chandra Herbert, Niki Sharma (Chair)